Florida Auto Insurance: Minimum Coverage Requirements
The minimum auto insurance coverage limits required in Florida, per the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation and state motor vehicle requirements, include only $10,000 per accident of PIP and damage liability materials.
Bodily injury liability and uninsured motorist coverage are standard and recommended with your policy, but you can opt out in writing. The minimum limits you can get for either are $10,000 per person or $20,000 per accident.
Although you may meet Florida’s minimum auto insurance requirements, it may not be the best policy for your needs. We recommend drivers consider opting for higher coverage limits.
If you’re involved in a particularly expensive accident, your minimum coverage may not be enough to fully cover the damage and you may have to pay out of pocket.
This applies whether you’re a student at the University of Central Florida on a budget, a new entry-level driver in Tallahassee, or a retiring senior in South Florida.
Florida No Fault Law
Florida is a no-fault state, which means insurers are required to provide coverage to drivers regardless of who is at fault in an accident. The Florida Motor Vehicle No-Fault Law helps ensure that drivers receive proper medical care and some degree of financial protection.
For this reason, Florida drivers must carry SEED and PDL under their auto insurance policy.
The PIP covers up to 80% of medical expenses and 60% of lost income if you are unable to work, up to a combined limit of $10,000.
PDL reimburses material damage caused to the vehicles of other drivers in the event of an accident, up to a maximum of $10,000. If your car is damaged, the other driver’s PDL will pay your repair costs.
Although Florida no-fault law requires drivers to wear personal injury protection, at-fault drivers can still be sued for serious bodily injury or death. For this reason, it is often recommended that you purchase Personal Injury Liability (BIL) insurance to provide additional protection against such claims.
Florida Financial Accountability Act: Policy SR-22 and FR-44 Requirements
If you cause an accident resulting in bodily injury to another person, or if you are found to be driving under the influence, you will need to have additional types of cover and higher limits of cover under the Florida’s fiscal responsibility, called SR-22 or FR-44 insurance.
SR-22 Insurance Requirements
For accidents resulting in bodily injury or death, drivers will need to purchase SR-22 insurance, often referred to as a Certificate of Financial Responsibility. In addition to Florida’s no-fault requirements, SR-22 insurance requires:
BIL: $10,000 per person
BIL: $20,000 per accident
These covers will pay for bodily injury suffered by other drivers or passengers involved in an accident you cause.
FR-44 Insurance Requirements
Florida residents convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs are required to meet FR-44 insurance standards. FR-44 coverage requirements are considerably higher than no-fault minimum coverages or SR-22 certificates. Specifically, FR-44 insurance requires:
BIL: $100,000 per person
BIL: $300,000 per accident
PDL: $50,000 per accident